Why Another Politics Blog

Posted on September 22, 2010

1


I now have what might be called a “warren” of WordPress.com blogs.

My Green Thoughts blog is on sustainability and the technological, economic and political challenges related to climate change.  I help market green technologies for a living as well as write about it.   I recently started a blog called “Meta-Economics” because I often feel the need to comment on scientific issues related to economics and other social sciences;  I noticed that economic opinion and analysis were the “master discipline” used to make decisions that will influence the future of our climate.   Furthermore arguments about deficits were “all over the place” and would have and are having an enormous effect on the course of our economies and on efforts to address climate change.  In 2009 I was unhappy with the level of discourse on the health reform debate and wrote some blog posts on it at “Health Care Reform…Outside the Beltway”.

However, I feel I have more to say specifically about politics that doesn’t fit into any of these existing blogs.  Instead of going off topic, I decided to form another blog.

I am deeply concerned about the state of politics in the US and feel that my background in psychology (Ph.D. from University of Michigan) as well as the diversity of my other interests might yield some ideas that, in some way, have a positive effect.  I am calling it “Politics 2100” because though this year is 2010 but we should as well be thinking about what we want the world to look like in 2100 when we engage in political debate.  I realize this is a stretch and that more immediate concerns are also important (we have to get to 2100 first) but it is also just a convenient “brand”.

Let me know what you think!

Posted in: About this Blog